Life 4

LifeHuman Birth – So Precious

Now the question comes that do I have all the time in the world to attempt to get Moksha? Well sadly we don’t. We are just gives 7 lives. In these 7 lives you can either take a shortcut as mentioned in previously or through Karma and Gyana Marg evolve yourself to get it. That’s why in Hindu marriages the couple take 7 rounds of the holy fire and also lovers resolve to be together for 7 lives… because there are no lives after that..So what happens if you don’t get Moksha.. well you fall back into the cycle of 84 million different species of living beings in the whole of creation as follows:

  • 900,000 species of aquatic.
  • 2,000,000 species of plants.
  • 1,100,000 species of insects.
  • 1,000,000 species of birds.
  • 3,000,000 species of beasts.
  • 400,000 species of human beings

Every living being is a soul (including plants and animals) covered in a material body. The soul takes one body then quits it to take another and so on.

Going through all the various species in the plant and animal kingdom (8 million) and then finally taking a human body. The human body is the highest and most elevated of all bodies and it is the only form in which Moksha can take place. So dears it is scary but understand that we have been squatted like a mosquito, slogged like a donkey and butchered like a cow in previous births 🙂

According to the Vedas, there are 8.4 million species of life and the conditioned soul is continuously passing through the different species according to his karma, under divine supervision. The Bhagavad Gita (2.22) says that just as one gives up an old shirt to put on a new one, the soul gives up an old body to acquire a new kind of a body (vasamsi jirnani yatha vihaya). Thus there are 8.4 million (84 lakh) types of bodies, out of which the soul assumes a body at the time of death.

We get information from the Padma Purana that the 8.4 million species of life are divided into six groups, namely aquatics, trees, insects, birds, animals and humans. There are nine hundred thousand (9 lakh) types of acquatics, two million (20 lakh) types of trees, 1.1 million types of insects, a million types of birds, three million types of animal bodies and four hundred thousand types of human bodies. These aggregate to 8.4 million.

All the bodies within the ambit of the 8.4 million species are sure to degenerate and ultimately die. Therefore one who is really intelligent understands the futility of all the activities that one carries out during his lifetime, the results of which will be finished at the time of death. Therefore he tries to understand the real purpose of human life and when he makes such an enquiry, God, Who is seated within his heart, guides him on the transcendental path, where he understands that one has to get out of this cycle of 8.4 million species of life. Once we reach the spiritual realm, there is no chance of our falling back into the miserable cycle of 8.4 million species of life [yad gatva na nivartante: Bg. 15.6]

Hinduism teaches that the soul goes on repeatedly being born and dying. One is reborn on account of desire: a person desires to be born because he or she wants to enjoy worldly pleasures, which can be enjoyed only through a body.

Hinduism does not teach that all worldly pleasures are sinful, but it teaches that they can never bring deep, lasting happiness or peace (ananda). According to the Hindu sage Adi Shankaracharya – the world as we ordinarily understand it – is like a dream: fleeting and illusory. To be trapped in Samsara is a result of ignorance of the true nature of being.

After many births, every person eventually becomes dissatisfied with the limited happiness that worldly pleasures can bring. At this point, a person begins to seek higher forms of happiness, which can be attained only through spiritual experience. When, after much spiritual practice (sadhana), a person finally realizes his or her own divine nature – i.e., realizes that the true “self” is the immortal soul rather than the body or the ego – all desires for the pleasures of the world will vanish, since they will seem insipid compared to spiritual ananda. When all desire has vanished, the person will not be reborn anymore.

When the cycle of rebirth thus comes to an end, a person is said to have attained moksha, or salvation. While all schools of thought agree that moksha implies the cessation of worldly desires and freedom from the cycle of birth and death, the exact definition of salvation depends on individual beliefs. For example, followers of the Advaita Vedanta school (often associated with jnana yoga) believe that they will spend eternity absorbed in the perfect peace and happiness that comes with the realization that all existence is One (Brahman), and that the immortal soul is part of that existence. The followers of full or partial Dvaita schools (“dualistic” schools, such as bhakti yoga), on the other hand, perform their worship with the goal of spending eternity in a loka, (spiritual world or heaven), in the blessed company of the Supreme being (i.e Krishna or Vishnu for the Vaishnavas, Shiva for the Shaivites).

(Visited 45 times, 1 visits today)