Yoga and Chakras: The Union of Body, Mind and Soul

‘Yoga’ refers to union or joining. Our scriptures state that the practice of Yoga leads to the union of an individual soul with Universal Consciousness, a state known as moksha. One may be able to achieve Yoga through the opening and balancing of the chakras, the subtle energy centres in the spine.

The Seven Chakras

Each of the seven Chakras in the human body vibrates at a certain frequency and governs a sphere of consciousness. For example, the Muladhar Chakra rules body consciousness, the Manipur Chakra rules mind consciousness, the Anahata or Heart Chakra governs sense consciousness and the Swadhisthan Chakra rules soul consciousness.

Yoga is a method of opening up and balancing the chakras, and by doing so, one can merge their consciousness with the Universal Consciousness in the Hrit Padma Chakra, which is the spiritual heart and the seat of the Atman.

Paths of Yoga

Since inception, Yoga has evolved drastically and travelled to the farthest corners of the globe. Raja Yoga focuses on meditation to integrate the mind, body and the soul. Karma Yoga is the yoga of action with selfless devotion. Bhakti yoga involves surrendering oneself to God through prayers and devotion. Jnana Yoga is the path aimed to connect a person with God by breaking his veil ignorance (or darkness within).

How to Achieve Yoga

Pranayam – Pranayam is a powerful breathing technique that directs the flow of energy into the body for healing and balancing the Chakras. With pranayams such as Bhastrika, Ujjayi breath and Kapal Bhati you can draw energy to replace the missing frequency of specific chakras. Pranayam balances the Chakras and synchronizes them so that they optimize our body’s functions.

Hatha Yoga – Through yoga poses and breathing you can release the stale energy and generate fresh energy inside. Some of the popular hatha yoga poses include Tadasana (Mountain Pose), Veerabhadrasana (Warrior pose) and Setu Bandhasana (Bridge Pose). Diligent practice rejuvenates the body’s chakras, which release positive energies that help unite your mind, body and soul.

Mantras – In Sanskrit, Mantra means ‘instrument of thought.’ It can be a sound, syllable, word, or group of words that creates transformation. The Bija mantras are one-syllable seed sounds that activate the energy of the chakras in order to purify and balance the mind and body. When you recite specific mantras, you resonate with the energy of the associated chakra, helping you focus upon your own instinctive awareness of your body and its needs.

Healing items – Rudraksha are divine beads that have powerful magnetic properties and electrical energy stored in them. Depending on the different mukhis of the bead, Rudraksha work on specific Chakras that vibrate to similar frequencies and help to open up and balance these Chakras. Crystals work in the same way but need to be cleansed frequently to get rid of negative energies.

To attend Neeta Singhal’s Chakra Healing workshop on 18th March, 2017, click

(Visited 102 times, 1 visits today)